The Center of Natural Substances’ Study (CESN in french) is a platform of the CNRS associate laboratory 5557-Microbial ecology based in the University Claude Bernard Lyon1.

For a long time, secondary metabolites have been considered as potential sources of new bioactive molecules or phenotypic elements, as a complement to genotypic datas in taxonomia. The evolution of analytical technics permitted to open new exploration’s ways of biodiversity at a molecular scale. These skills, used for the investigation of molecules implicated in biotic interactions, permit to define in a precise way the chemical outlines of those interactions, opening then a new domain : chemical ecology.

The chemical ecology is though the study of the role of chemical compounds in the mediation of biotic interactions. The interactions between organisms, at intra- and interspecific levels, take place in a world where organic molecules dominate as signals and defences. The chemical ecology lies at the heart of the fundamental questions in evolutionary biology and functional ecology of ecosystem functioning and on the origin and maintenance of biodiversity.

In this context, the use of phytochemical analytical tools and biomathematics allowed us not only to improve knowledge on chimiobiodiversity of endemic plant species, but also highlight the involvement of secondary metabolites in biotic interactions.

This new angle of view of biodiversity, complementary of transcriptomics or genomics tools, is a future asset that should enable us to do, successfully, important advances in understanding the complexity and originality of ecosystems and can more easily identify potential applications in the context of sustainable development.

The activities of the CESN are focused on thematics concerning :

  • The chemical ecology applied to plant-microbe interactions
  • Chemical and biological characterization of natural substances
  • Metabolomics and metabolic profiling of plant extracts and bacterial
  • The bio-guided fractionation of natural molecules

Research personnel associated with the CESN are involved in the various teams of the Unit and work mainly on:

  • The study of metabolites implicated in biotic or abiotic interactions (ecology, environment, health…) like actinorhizal, associative symbioses,…
  • Characterization of the influence of biotic environment on the expression of metabolic a partner in a defined ecosystem.
  • The chemical biodiversity and its potential applications.

Moreover, the CESN has established partnerships either at academic or industrial, and offers a range of services and expertise around natural substances.

Le Centre d’Etude des Substances Naturelles (CESN) est une plateforme de l’UMR CNRS 5557-Ecologie microbienne, basée à l’Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1.

Les métabolites secondaires ont longtemps été considérés comme sources potentielles de nouvelles molécules bioactives ou comme éléments phénotypiques, complémentaires des données génotypiques, dans la taxonomie. L’évolution des techniques d’analyse a permis d’ouvrir d’autres voies d’exploration de la biodiversité à l’échelle moléculaire. Ces outils, mis à profit dans l’étude des molécules impliquées dans les interactions biotiques, permettent de définir de façon plus précise les contours chimiques de ces interactions, ouvrant ainsi vers un domaine nouveau : l’écologie chimique.

L’écologie chimique est donc l’étude du rôle des composés chimiques dans la médiation des interactions biotiques. Les interactions entre organismes, aux niveaux intra et interspécifiques, se déroulent dans un monde où des molécules organiques dominent comme signaux et comme défenses. L’écologie chimique se trouve donc au cœur des questions fondamentales en biologie évolutive et en écologie fonctionnelle sur le fonctionnement des écosystèmes et sur l’origine et le maintien de la biodiversité

Dans ce cadre, l’utilisation d’outils d’analyse phytochimique et de biomathématique nous a permis non seulement d’améliorer les connaissances sur la chimiobiodiversité d’espèces végétales endémiques, mais également de mettre en évidence l’implication des métabolites secondaires dans les interactions
Ce nouvel angle d’observation de la biodiversité, complémentaire des outils de transcriptomique ou de génomique est un des atouts futurs qui doit nous permettre de faire, avec succès, de grandes avancées sur la compréhension de la complexité et de l’originalité des écosystèmes et de pouvoir plus facilement en dégager des applications potentielles dans le cadre du développement soutenable.

Les activités du CESN sont centrées sur des thématiques concernant :

  • L’écologie chimique appliquée aux interactions plantes-microorganismes
  • La caractérisation chimique et biologique de substances naturelle
  • La métabolomique et le profilage métabolique d’extraits végétaux et bactériens
  • Le fractionnement bio-guidé de molécules naturelles

Les personnels de recherche associés au CESN sont impliqués dans les différentes équipes de l’Unité et travaillent principalement sur :

  • L’étude des métabolites impliqués dans des interactions biotiques ou abiotiques (écologie, environnement, santé,…) telles que les symbioses actinorhiziennes, les symbioses associatives,....
  • La caractérisation de l’influence des facteurs biotiques environnementaux sur l’expression métabolique d’un partenaire dans un écosystème défini.
  • La chimiobiodiversité et ses applications potentielles.

Par ailleurs, le CESN a mis en place des partenariats que ce soit aux niveaux académique ou industriel et propose une offre de services et d’expertises autour des substances naturelles.